The Department of Labor offices will be closed on Monday, May 30th, 2022 in observance of The Memorial Day holiday. All payments scheduled for Monday May 30th, 2022, will be processed on Tuesday, May 31st, 2022. Please allow up to one week before contacting us regarding the status of payments. Thank you! More Info
Delaware Department of Labor
Office of Labor Law Enforcement
The Department of Labor can collect minimum wages on behalf of Delaware workers. Effective January 1, 2022 Delaware’s minimum hourly wage rate is $10.50.
Delaware’s minimum hourly wage will increase incrementally on January 1 of the next three years, to $11.75 in 2023, $13.25 in 2024, and $15.00 in 2025.
Employees Who Receive Tips:
The minimum cash wage payable to employees who receive tips is $2.23 per hour. Tips may not be taken or retained by an employer except as required by law. Tip pooling is permitted (under certain circumstances) in an amount not to exceed 15% of the actual tips received by the employee.
Minimum Wage Exemptions:
Employees in agriculture Employees in domestic service in or about private homes Employees of the United States Government Outside commission paid salespeople Bona fide executives, administrators, and professionals Employees engaged in fishing and fish processing at sea Volunteer workers (for educational, religious or non-profit organizations) Junior camp counselors employed by non-profit summer camp programs Inmates participating in Department of Correction programs
Record Keeping Requirements:
Employers must keep records, including rates of pay, hours worked and the amount paid for each worker, for at least three (3) years.
Labor Law Poster Labor Law Poster (en Español)
Office of Labor Law Enforcement Navigation
Related Topics: Labor Law, Minimum Wage