Be Aware of Unemployment Fraud More Info

Delaware.gov logo

Delaware Department of Labor Logo

Delaware Department of Labor



Mixed Earners Unemployment Compensation (MEUC) FAQs




Disclaimer: These FAQs are subject to change based on new information. Additionally, due to modifications of the UI program as a result of COVID-19 responses, many of the FAQs have modified answers. Please check back frequently. This website is not intended as legal advice. Any responses to specific questions are based on the facts as we understand them and the law that was current when the responses were written. They are not intended to apply to any other situations. This communication is not an agency order. If you need legal advice, you must consult an attorney.

Please Note: These FAQs will be updated as necessary as we make systemic programming changes based on federal guidance.

Mixed Earners Unemployment Compensation (MEUC) has been extended with the enactment of the American Rescue Plan for all weeks, January 2, 2021 through September 4, 2021. MEUC provides $100 in extra benefits to individuals with at least $5,000 in net income from self-employment during the applicable tax year.

What are the qualification criteria for MEUC?

You may qualify if you meet the following criteria:

1). Are you getting at least $1/week in traditional unemployment insurance from your state?
If you are receiving benefits from the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance, you do not qualify for this extra $100.

2) Did you report at least $5k in net profit self-employment income in 2019?
This can be 1099 income or any other reportable self-employment income. If you are applying for unemployment for the first time in 2021, you will need to prove $5k in net profit self-employment income in 2020.

If the answer is yes to both questions, you may be eligible for the extra $100/weekly.

Will I receive a notice of determination regarding MEUC?

Yes, you will receive a notice of determination notifying you if you are eligible or ineligible for the program. The notice of determination will be emailed to you, and if you have indicated that your preferred method of communication is postal mail, it will also be mailed to you.

What if I disagree with the decision or the facts on my Notice of Financial Determination?

If you disagree with the decision the department has made, you have the right to file an appeal at Dol_DUI_APPEALS_REQUEST.@DELAWARE.GOV

Will the extra $100 a week of MEUC payments affect my eligibility for public assistance programs?

The extra $100 MEUC payment per week may affect eligibility for Medicaid, CHIP or SNAP. Child support is deductible from Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) payments.

Do I have to pay taxes on MEUC payments?

Yes. MEUC is taxable and will be subject to 10% Federal withholding tax. If you elected to have taxes withheld from your regular UC benefits. For information about changing your election, visit our Taxes on Benefits at UICLAIMS@DELAWARE.GOV.



Related Topics:  , , ,

















+