The Department of Labor offices will be closed on Monday, May 30th, 2022 in observance of The Memorial Day holiday. All payments scheduled for Monday May 30th, 2022, will be processed on Tuesday, May 31st, 2022. Please allow up to one week before contacting us regarding the status of payments. Thank you! More Info
BENEFIT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES CONCERNING YOUR PANDEMIC UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE (PUA) CLAIM
You have filed a claim for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) with the State of Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance. The purpose of the information provided below is to inform you of your rights and responsibilities under Delaware Unemployment Insurance law and federal PUA law. Please read this information carefully.
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) provides unemployment compensation to individuals affected by COVID-19. Individuals who are 1) self-employed, 2) seeking part-time employment, 3) do not have sufficient work history, or 4) otherwise would not qualify for regular state unemployment benefits (UI), Extended Benefits (EB), or Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) can file claims for PUA.
PUA is also available to those individuals who become the breadwinner, or major support, due to the death of the head of household as a direct result of the pandemic. Individuals who were to commence employment at the time of the pandemic or after may also be entitled to benefits if their ability to begin employment was affected by the pandemic.
The following individuals are not eligible for PUA:
A covered individual is someone who:
Your initial PUA weekly benefit amount will be the minimum amount of $133.00. Within 21 days of filing your claim, your weekly benefit amount will be established based on documentation you submit showing your gross wages for employment/net income for self-employment for the most recently completed calendar year (CY 2019) and you will be issued a monetary determination. If you have low or no reportable wages, your claim will be established at the minimum PUA weekly benefit amount of $133.00. The maximum PUA weekly benefit amount is $400.00. If you disagree with your monetary determination, you may request a etermination.
If you disagree with the amount of your monetary entitlement, you must present proof of wages/income for the previous calendar year (CY 2019) and request a reconsideration of your monetary award. This request must be made before the end of the PUA period, which is the week ending December 26, 2020. A request for a monetary redetermination is to be submitted by email to email@example.com or by regular mail to DUI Attn: Local Office 4425 N. Market St. Wilmington, DE 19802 If your wages/income for CY 2019 entitle you to a higher weekly benefit amount, the Division will make a redetermination and recalculate your benefit entitlement for all the weeks you have filed a certification for PUA.
Delaware Governor John Carney’s declaration of a State of Emergency was made on March 13, 2020. Accordingly, PUA claims in the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance’s automated system can initially be backdated to March 15, 2020. However, if you have reason to believe the cause of your unemployment prior to that date is related to the COVID-19 pandemic, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org to request backdating of your claim prior to March 15, 2020.
Your eligibility to receive PUA benefits will be determined on a week-to-week basis. For each week you file a PUA claim, you must self-certify that your reason for being unemployed is a direct result of one of the listed COVID-19 pandemic reasons. The maximum duration of PUA benefits payable is 39 weeks, but no PUA benefits are payable after the week ending December 26, 2020.
PUA benefits may be denied or reduced if you begin to receive or are receiving income from one or more of the following in any week in which you file a PUA weekly claim certification:
You are required to report in your weekly claim certification if you received income from any of the above listed sources that week.
If you are required to pay Child Support through the Delaware Division of Child Support Enforcement, a deduction may be made from your PUA benefits.
If you owe the Division an overpayment of prior unemployment benefits, a deduction may be made from your PUA benefits.
If you are entitled to a PUA benefit payment for any week from the week ending April 4, 2020 through the week ending July 25, 2020, you are also entitled to $600.00 of additional benefits under the Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) program for those weeks.
You may be disqualified from the receipt of PUA benefits or your PUA benefits may be terminated, for the following reasons:
Any determination regarding your eligibility for PUA benefits may be appealed. You must file the appeal within 10 days of the date the determination was mailed to you. If the 10-day appeals period ends on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal state holiday, the appeals period is extended to the next workday that is not a holiday. You may file an appeal by email at DOL_DUI_Appeals_Request@delaware.gov by regular mail at DUI Attn Appeals 4425 N. Market St. Wilmington, DE 19802 or through the claimant portal at ocs.delawareworks.com. When filing your appeal, you should indicate your full name, address, phone number, email address, and Appeal Docket Number of the decision being appealed and the reason for the appeal.
It is your responsibility to give correct answers to any questions asked in regards to your initial and weekly claims for PUA benefits. Failure to do so may result in your PUA benefits being delayed or denied.
All information that you provide regarding your PUA claim is subject to verification. PUA benefits are provided pursuant to federal and state law. Criminal and/or civil penalties for violation of federal and/or state laws will be enforced for willfully making false statements or concealing information to obtain or increase PUA benefits to which you were not entitled.
Call or email the Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance at email@example.com or 302-761-8446.