Delaware SB184 requires many employers working on prevailing wage projects meet Craft Training requirements. Payments to the Apprenticeship and Training Fund is one to meet this obligation. Find out more at the Delaware One Stop. More Info
Updated: 2020-11-02 14:00 EDT
Disclaimer: These FAQs are subject to change based on new information. Additionally, due to modifications of the UI program as a result of COVID-19 responses, many of the FAQs have modified answers. Please check back frequently. This website is not intended as legal advice. Any responses to specific questions are based on the facts as we understand them and the law that was current when the responses were written. They are not intended to apply to any other situations. This communication is not an agency order. If you need legal advice, you must consult an attorney.
The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act of 2020 (CARES Act) includes three key programs for workers affected by the Coronavirus.
1. Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC)
Will provide an additional $600 to claimant’s weekly benefits. This added benefit is actively being disbursed with regular unemployment insurance benefit claims. This benefit was only available for the week beginning March 29, 2020 through the week ending July 25, 2020.
2. Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC)
Provides workers with up to 13 weeks for claims opened after July 1, 2019. If you have exhausted the 26 weeks of regular or traditional unemployment benefits, you may all be eligible for PEUC.
You must visit pua.delawareworks.com to satisfy your weekly certification.
3. Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)
Provides unemployment assistance to independent contractors, self-employed individuals, and religious/faith-based organizations affected by the Coronavirus.
The Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance implemented a new system where claimants will be able to apply for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance program benefits. You must first apply for traditional UI benefits and if you are not eligible for traditional UI benefits, you will receive a notice with instructions on how to apply PUA benefits. We will be providing additional information as soon as possible. You can visit our website for updates at labor.delaware.gov. Collect the following information and get it ready to submit once you receive the notice:
If your benefits exhausted or expired between the dates of July 1, 2019 and Saturday, April 18, 2020, you will need to apply for the 13-week extension after 8:00 AM on Sunday April 19, 2020 by visiting ui.delawareworks.com and completing an application for benefits. If you are currently receiving unemployment insurance benefits and they will not exhaust or expire until after Sunday April 19, 2020, you do not have to take any action. When your current benefits have been exhausted, you will receive notice about filing for an extension.
Yes. File for unemployment benefits on our website. If your employer has given you an expected day to return to work you should provide that as a recall date. If you are unsure of when you are scheduled to return, then do not provide a recall date. Keep in mind that eligibility can not be determined via email or by phone. Please file a claim at ui.delawareworks.com and an eligibility decision will be rendered after your Unemployment claim is reviewed.
No, not for regular Unemployment Insurance Benefits. If you have been directed by a health care provider or public official to isolate or quarantine you will be eligible for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance. If you are currently collecting unemployment insurance benefits and have been directed to quarantine or isolate, you will answer “No” to the question about being able and available on your weekly certification. For individuals currently working, you will need to file a claim at ui.delawareworks.com and an eligibility decision will be rendered after your Unemployment claim is reviewed.
You may be eligible. Individuals experiencing a reduction in hours may be eligible. You should file a claim and report your gross wages each week. Keep in mind that eligibility can not be determined via email or by phone. Please file a claim at ui.delawareworks.com and an eligibility decision will be rendered after your Unemployment claim is reviewed.
You may be eligible for benefits if schools are closed by order of the Governor and you must stay home to care for them. Please visit ui.delawareworks.com or send an email to email@example.com for more information. Keep in mind that eligibility can not be determined via email or by phone. Please file a claim at ui.delawareworks.com and an eligibility decision will be rendered after your Unemployment claim is reviewed.
Individuals applying for unemployment compensation benefits must be US citizens or lawful residents of the US, or have work authorizations to work in the US. Keep in mind that eligibility can not be determined via email or by phone. Please file a claim at ui.delawareworks.com and an eligibility decision will be rendered after your Unemployment claim is reviewed.
You should file your claim for benefits as soon as you become unemployed. Claims begin on the Sunday of the week they are filed. If your last day of work was after the Sunday of the week you filed your claim you must report wages on your first pay authorization.
You will receive a confirmation number and a monetary determination in the mail. We make every effort to pay eligible claims within 10 – 14 days due to the current circumstance. This is pending all information received is accurate and timely. If you have specific questions about your claim, please visit ui.delawareworks.com or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org for more information. To check on the status of your benefits, call the hotline. The hotline will let claimants know if a payment was made. The Information Hotline, at (800) 794-3032 or (302) 761-6576 is available 7 days a week, 24 hours per day.
You must begin submitting pay authorizations the Sunday after you file your claim. Continue submitting pay authorizations each week even if you do not receive a payment. If you do not submit a pay authorization each week your claim will become out of sequence and we are unable to make a payment. If you miss a week, reopen your claim and begin submitting again.
Weekly certifications can be submitted the Sunday following the day you submitted your initial claim. Make sure you submit your weekly pay authorization either online or phone.
Delaware has temporarily waived the requirement to look for work during the State of Emergency. Please visit ui.delawareworks.com or send an email to email@example.com for more information. If you have already registered for a Delaware JobLink account and having issues with your password or other concerns, please contact the Division of Employment & Training (DET) at (302)761-8085.
As permitted by the Governor’s Declaration of a State of Emergency, we suspended the work search requirement and also the requirement to create the JobLhttps://joblink.delaware.govink account. When your claim is submitted you should receive a confirmation page and confirmation email. If you receive either of those items, we received your claim and the team is working to process it.
Each claimant is required to create a PIN on their 1st Pay authorization submission whether it is done through web-benefits or tele-benefits. If you currently do not have a PIN established for either WebBenefits or TeleBenefits, use “9999” as the default PIN the first time you call or login PIN. You will then be prompted to establish your own PIN. The PIN cannot contain the same number four numbers and cannot be sequential (1111 or 1234).
The four-digit number you select will become your Personal Identification Number (PIN), which you will use each time you log into WebBenefits. You are responsible for the security of your own PIN, and it serves as your electronic signature. Do not give your PIN to anyone, even family members. If you have forgotten your PIN, please click on the Forgot PIN link.
If you have attempted to reset your PIN by using 9999, please send an email to dol_dui_benefitspinN@delaware.gov with the subject line “PIN REQUEST.” Please provide your full name and phone number and a UI Staff person will contact you to assist with PIN REQUEST.
We accept Unemployment Insurance applications outside each location. They can be returned by mail or dropped off at our secure drop box outside our Wilmington and Dover locations. Self applications must be completed in full and must be legible.
Division of Unemployment Insurance
PO Box 9950
Wilmington, DE 19809-9959
4425 N. Market Street
Wilmington, DE 19802
Blue Hen Corporate Center
655 S. Bay Road, Suite 2H
Dover, DE 19901
The phone lines are extremely busy and we are working to add employees to assist in responding to phone calls as well as emails. You can email your questions to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please try to limit the number of emails, duplicated emails will delay the team from answering your questions at an efficient rate. The communications team who handles social media are DOL employees, but work in other divisions, so it may take them a while to respond to specific questions.
Update your contact information (such as your address) on the claimant portal: ocs.delawareworks.com
No. CARES Act stimulus is not considered income or earnings for Unemployment Insurance Compensation. You do not need to report it when making your weekly pay authorizations.
No. FPUC is not considered income or earnings for Unemployment Insurance Compensation. You do not need to report it when making your weekly pay authorizations.
There is an issue on your claim that requires an investigation before entitlement to the unemployment benefit can be determined. An investigator, called a claims deputy or an adjuticator, will review your claim if you were fired or quit your job, you are not able and available to work, you are receiving severance or pension or other reasons that may affect your eligibility for benefits. You should continue to submit pay authorizations each week while your claim is being reviewed. The claims deputy will contact you with any questions.
If a claimant filed a claim and continues to submit weekly pay authorizations they will be paid for any week in which they are eligible for benefits. If you applied for benefits and there is a hold-up with your claim, once the hold is lifted you will receive benefits retroactive to when you originally applied. If you are an independent contractor or are self-employed, your benefits will be retroactive from the day after the State of Delaware signed the agreement with the federal government under the CARES Act which was Sunday 3/29/20.
You can only submit a pay authorization for the current week. If you miss a week, you must reopen your claim and submit your pay authorizations on the following Sunday. It is very important to submit a weekly pay authorization as soon as you file your initial claim and to continue to do so even if you haven’t received payment. If you do not submit a pay authorization for a week then you cannot receive a benefit payment for that week.
If you received a monetary determination with no wages and you worked for a covered employer in 2019, please send your W2 via email to email@example.com.
If all your wages were earned in another state during the last 18 months, you need to file in that state. If you have all Delaware wages, you would file in Delaware.
If you applied for benefits and there is a hold on your claim, once the hold is lifted you will receive benefits retroactive to when you originally applied.
If you are an independent contractor or are self-employed, your benefits will be retroactive from the day after the State of Delaware signed the agreement with the federal government under the CARES Act which was Sunday 3/29/20. Self-employed/ independent contractor wages need to be cross referenced with the IRS data to find out how much that person will receive.
Direct Deposit is a convenient, safe and reliable way to receive your unemployment insurance benefits. If you are filing a new claim online you can enter your Direct Deposit information directly on the application. To enroll online you will need to provide the following information and sign up on our website:
Debit cards are sent to claimants from a third party vendor, not from the Department of Labor. If your debit card is lost or stolen or you have questions about your card you must contact the bank issuing the debit card. Call 1-866-567-8590 or visit usbankreliacard.com.
Claimants must file appeals in writing either by mail or email. Claimants must include their full name, contact information and case number in their appeal.
Division of Unemployment Insurance Appeals Unit
PO Box 9950
Wilmington, DE 19809-0951
Or by email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Appeals must be filed by the deadline indicated on their determination.
Related Topics: CARES Act, COVID-19, Extended Benefits, File a claim, Frequently Asked Questions, Lost Wages Assistance (LWA), Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC), Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA), Unemployment Insurance